(23:15 GMT)
Username   Password  

BankrollMob logo  
Promotions Reviews Bankrolls - Free No Deposit Offers Poker Forum News: Poker, Casino, Betting & Bingo Sport Bets Poker Freerolls & Tournaments Leaderboards Support & FAQ
transparent separator

BankrollMob Forum

BankrollMob Forum » Poker Forum » How would you rule?

New Thread Forums Search Subscriptions Bookmarks

  24-May-12, 17:53   #1
How would you rule? 0 
Joined: Nov '11
Location: Canada
Age: 56 (M)
Posts: 35
In league play......

There are three players to the flop. Flop comes:
Player A goes all in
Player B calls
Player C calls

Turn comes:
Player B min bets
Player C calls

River comes:
Player B checks
Player C checks

Dealer says roll em over
Player A shows
Player B mucks
Player C mucks and claims side pot

Player B then says Oooops I forgot about the side pot and tries to take cards back?

  24-May-12, 17:57   #2

Joined: May '08
Location: Netherlands
Age: 47 (M)
Posts: 6197
Allready mucked so no, not in the hand anymore.

  24-May-12, 19:27   #3
Joined: Feb '08
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 29 (M)
Posts: 1885
Unfortunately, if the cards are mucked you no longer have a hand so I agree player B cannot win but I also believe that Player C cannot claim the side pot without showing his hand since both players reached the river. And before showing his cards player C has the right to ask the dealer to expose player Bs cards.

But rules do vary between casinos. At least there's a dealer to determine the rules. It's far worse when you're among friends and no one knows how to rule without causing arguments.

  24-May-12, 20:49   #4
Joined: Feb '11
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 53 (M)
Posts: 5329
Player B is out of the hand. Concentration is key in poker is it not?

  24-May-12, 21:03   #5

Joined: Mar '08
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 38 (M)
Posts: 6714
As awood says, player c should ask, or force to show Bs hand, however IMO automatically win the side pot without showing, dealers error IMO(along with players, but C has the upper)

  24-May-12, 22:25   #6
Joined: Nov '11
Location: Canada
Age: 56 (M)
Posts: 35
Ya, I think there were a number of mistakes in this hand. First, the dealer should have determined the side pot first rather than telling everyone to roll them over. Second, the dealer should have called upon player C to show his cards in order to claim the side pot.

As it is possible that player B was bluffing and did not want to disclose his bluff, he should not be allowed to claim the pot after mucking and then seeing that his bluff would have beat player C's bluff if player C was bluffing. Since player B was the last to show aggression in the hand he was first to act on showdown and he tossed his cards in the muck. Perhaps a costly mistake if he had the winner.

  25-May-12, 01:12   #7

Joined: Feb '11
Location: Canada
Age: 32 (M)
Posts: 1568
Hi Jackal,

I'm assuming this happened to you? If so was it at a casino? What did they rule? Was the dealer at fault?

Among friends you'd think this would be easy to resolve, B shows his hand, unless of course he mucked into a pile of cards and his hand is no longer explicitly clear.

  25-May-12, 03:38   #8
Joined: Apr '11
Location: Romania
Age: 28 (M)
Posts: 6668
^ I think you are definately right, this could only happen on a casino, not online...

ANd also the other mobsters are right, i mean player B mucked his hand and thats it really...

BankrollMob Forum » Poker Forum » How would you rule?

Forum Rules | Support & FAQ

  Bookmark and Share