English flag   Dansk (danish) flag     (08:29 GMT)
 
Username   Password  

BankrollMob Christmas logo  
Free no deposit poker bonuses Reviews Bankrolls - Free No Deposit Offers Poker Forum News: Poker, Casino, Betting & Bingo Sport Bets Poker Freerolls & Tournaments Leaderboards Support & FAQ
transparent separator

BankrollMob Forum

BankrollMob Forum » Hand Histories » Analyze this plz

New Thread Forums Search Subscriptions Bookmarks

  2-May-13, 09:40   #1
Analyze this plz 0 
sadamman 

Joined: Jan '12
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 28 (M)
Posts: 1204
I don't think I done anything wrong here. Not sure about his play but I can't say i haven't done the same before in his position. Elaborate your thoughts plz guys...

PokerStars Hand #97991822356: Tournament #724379794, $0.50+$0.05 USD Hold'em No Limit - Level VI (100/200) - 2013/05/02 10:34:32 WET [2013/05/02 5:34:32 ET]
Table '724379794 28' 9-max Seat #4 is the button
Seat 1: VictorStefan (2790 in chips)
Seat 2: Bivaet (4150 in chips)
Seat 3: Augustas9999 (32720 in chips)
Seat 4: malysh58 (9420 in chips)
Seat 5: sadamman (13420 in chips)
Seat 6: loczkinson (23280 in chips)
Seat 7: gnostor (8105 in chips)
Seat 8: kanoona (3775 in chips)
Seat 9: lapa pikines (8215 in chips)
sadamman: posts small blind 100
loczkinson: posts big blind 200
*** HOLE CARDS ***
Dealt to sadamman [2s As]
gnostor: folds
kanoona: folds
lapa pikines: folds
VictorStefan: folds
Bivaet: folds
Augustas9999: calls 200
malysh58: raises 400 to 600
sadamman: calls 500
loczkinson: folds
Augustas9999: calls 400
*** FLOP *** [3d 8s 6c]
sadamman: checks
Augustas9999: bets 200
malysh58: calls 200
sadamman: calls 200
*** TURN *** [3d 8s 6c] 3 of spades
sadamman: checks
Augustas9999: checks
malysh58: checks
*** RIVER *** [3d 8s 6c 3s] 6 of spades
sadamman: checks
Augustas9999: bets 5200
malysh58: folds
sadamman: raises 7420 to 12620 and is all-in
Augustas9999: calls 7420
*** SHOW DOWN ***
sadamman: shows [2s As] (a flush, Ace high)
Augustas9999: shows [7d 6d] (a full house, Sixes full of Threes)
Augustas9999 collected 27840 from pot
sadamman finished the tournament in 770th place
*** SUMMARY ***
Total pot 27840 | Rake 0
Board [3d 8s 6c 3s 6s]
Seat 1: VictorStefan folded before Flop (didn't bet)
Seat 2: Bivaet folded before Flop (didn't bet)
Seat 3: Augustas9999 showed [7d 6d] and won (27840) with a full house, Sixes full of Threes
Seat 4: malysh58 (button) folded on the River
Seat 5: sadamman (small blind) showed [2s As] and lost with a flush, Ace high
Seat 6: loczkinson (big blind) folded before Flop
Seat 7: gnostor folded before Flop (didn't bet)
Seat 8: kanoona folded before Flop (didn't bet)
Seat 9: lapa pikines folded before Flop (didn't bet)

Edited by sadamman (Thursday, May 02, 2013 @ 09:41 GMT)


     
  2-May-13, 09:55   #2
  0 
remco2504 
Joined: Dec '08
Location: Netherlands
Age: 35 (M)
Posts: 579
Well when the river comes and pairs the board twice and Augustas9999 overbets the pot u for sure had to know your nut flush wasnt good anymore.
And because there wasnt to much in the pot you could have easely folded and still have 10K+ chips to play another hand.

I would have folded to the river in this case.

     
  2-May-13, 09:56   #3
  0 
jessthehuman 

Joined: Apr '09
Location: Australia
Age: 32 (M)
Posts: 6441
A) Honestly, fold pre-flop, there is no way you're going to make money/chips long term by calling a raise with A2 from the small blind, it's a seriously bad call.

EDIT: Never complete the SB with A2, even if it's just limpers before you. Wth A2s you can use your discretion in completing the SB, if you think it's a soft/passive table who'll let you get your flush easily and pay you if you do.. but chasing flushes OOP is generally a bad move and if you're not chasing a flush A2 is a stupid hand. Generally just fold any weak aces from the SB, suited or not. ALWAYS fold in a raised pot from the sb with a weak ace, regardless of whether or not it is suited.

B) Just call the river, there is no point in re-raising, you don't have the nuts here, every single full house beats you. If you have the nut flush on the river, on a paired board and you have reason to believe you're ahead and it is check to you, by all means - put in a raise, you don't have to be a complete p***y. But don't re-raise the river on a paired board with a flush, there's no point. Just call.

------------
Posted by remco2504:

I would have folded to the river in this case.


Personally, I would only fold the river bet if I had notes on the player saying they over-bet nut-hands.

Otherwise far too many people over bet here with hands we beat, like trips and worse flushes, occasionally even bluffs. Generally I would call unless I had a pretty good reason to fold. I would never re-raise though, that is a really silly thing to do.

Edited by jessthehuman (Thursday, May 02, 2013 @ 10:01 GMT)


     
  2-May-13, 10:25   #4
  0 
pokkerimees 
Joined: Oct '08
Location: Estonia
Age: 40 (M)
Posts: 384
I would fold preflop. I think i would even fold after flop, totally missed, even tho i know there was already 2000 in the pot and only 200 to call, but still YOU TOTALLY MISSED FLOP.
Btw, amazing bet by augustas, he probably did put you on flush.
I personally play suited Ax too, but then i want 2 suits in the flop to continue.

     
  2-May-13, 10:43   #5
  0 
sadamman 

Joined: Jan '12
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 28 (M)
Posts: 1204
I would fold it normally but it was a table with those two 2-3x raising and limping each other every hand. I seen it as an opportunity to limp for the flush. After the flop i weren't even chasing the flush, it was just only a min raise. Then after that i couldn't get out of it, on the river i thought he was just overbetting two pair or a lower flush.

     
  2-May-13, 11:30   #6
  0 
marqis 

Joined: Sep '10
Location: Netherlands
Age: 48 (M)
Posts: 1631
Posted by jessthehuman:
A) Honestly, fold pre-flop, there is no way you're going to make money/chips long term by calling a raise with A2 from the small blind, it's a seriously bad call.

EDIT: Never complete the SB with A2, even if it's just limpers before you. Wth A2s you can use your discretion in completing the SB, if you think it's a soft/passive table who'll let you get your flush easily and pay you if you do.. but chasing flushes OOP is generally a bad move and if you're not chasing a flush A2 is a stupid hand. Generally just fold any weak aces from the SB, suited or not. ALWAYS fold in a raised pot from the sb with a weak ace, regardless of whether or not it is suited.

B) Just call the river, there is no point in re-raising, you don't have the nuts here, every single full house beats you. If you have the nut flush on the river, on a paired board and you have reason to believe you're ahead and it is check to you, by all means - put in a raise, you don't have to be a complete p***y. But don't re-raise the river on a paired board with a flush, there's no point. Just call.

Completely agree with this, except that I don't understand this: "on a paired board and you have reason to believe you're ahead and it is check to you, by all means - put in a raise, you don't have to be a complete p***y".

Do you mean if the board is paired once, or also the hand we are talking about? I would check 100% here, because I would not be able to call a re-raise/shove. I can't imagine anyone with a worse flush would call your river bet, so you don't extract any extra value. Maybe you get someone with a 3 to fold?

I feel confident, that I'm only a p***y to some extent, but feel free to call me a "complete p***y" because of this. Blink

     
  2-May-13, 12:10   #7
  0 
bullettooth1 

Joined: Mar '11
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 32 (M)
Posts: 1635
Preflop is definitely a fold for me but as you said you had some history on them. If i did call preflop then i would be folding the flop even tho its only 200 there is nothing there for you, your calling to hit the flush or at least a flush draw.
but if i did call the flop bet and check the turn, I'm definitely getting to show down as cheap as possible. No way should you go broke here on that board. Just remember your not getting called by worse here so re-raising is pointless.
Good luck in the next one Thumbs Up

     
  2-May-13, 12:52   #8
  0 
sadamman 

Joined: Jan '12
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 28 (M)
Posts: 1204
Thanks guys i suppose looking back on it, it was impulsive. But it was a 55c tourney and in the past similar things have happened where i have been on the winning end. I just misread it, and didnt think. But it is a thin line and has worked out for me in the past.

     
  2-May-13, 12:54   #9
  0 
awood88 
Joined: Feb '08
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 28 (M)
Posts: 1881
Agree with everyone else it's a fold preflop. Clearly he was prepared to limp preflop with any two connectors or maybe worse rubbish but you were only losing a small blind by folding and by calling 500 you couldn't have had any well-thought strategy for getting that back. Even if you thought you could outplay these two donks nine times out of ten, it's a risk you don't need to take at this point in a tourney.

The very next hand you would be on the button and in a much better position. If they did something similar you could probably raise with any decent hand and be pretty confident going into the flop. But from the small blind with A high there is practically no flop where you can bet out for value, you have absolutely no read on your opponents - they could have junk and hit two pair or have a better ace or overpair, and you have to act first on every street.

I would fold preflop. Having called that I think you are priced in to call 200 with a pot of 2400. But I don't think I would call the river even with a great read. You still haven't committed many chips to the pot considering your stack so I wouldn't risk half my stack on such a dangerous board. Plus as others have mentioned he can't call with worse, I think he would check any form of two pair so I defintely wouldn't raise. That probably is the worst play of the hand.

But you live and learn. Better luck next time.

     
  6-May-13, 02:09   #10
  0 
jessthehuman 

Joined: Apr '09
Location: Australia
Age: 32 (M)
Posts: 6441
Posted by marqis:
Posted by jessthehuman:
A) Honestly, fold pre-flop, there is no way you're going to make money/chips long term by calling a raise with A2 from the small blind, it's a seriously bad call.

EDIT: Never complete the SB with A2, even if it's just limpers before you. Wth A2s you can use your discretion in completing the SB, if you think it's a soft/passive table who'll let you get your flush easily and pay you if you do.. but chasing flushes OOP is generally a bad move and if you're not chasing a flush A2 is a stupid hand. Generally just fold any weak aces from the SB, suited or not. ALWAYS fold in a raised pot from the sb with a weak ace, regardless of whether or not it is suited.

B) Just call the river, there is no point in re-raising, you don't have the nuts here, every single full house beats you. If you have the nut flush on the river, on a paired board and you have reason to believe you're ahead and it is check to you, by all means - put in a raise, you don't have to be a complete p***y. But don't re-raise the river on a paired board with a flush, there's no point. Just call.

Completely agree with this, except that I don't understand this: "on a paired board and you have reason to believe you're ahead and it is check to you, by all means - put in a raise, you don't have to be a complete p***y".

Do you mean if the board is paired once, or also the hand we are talking about? I would check 100% here, because I would not be able to call a re-raise/shove. I can't imagine anyone with a worse flush would call your river bet, so you don't extract any extra value. Maybe you get someone with a 3 to fold?

I feel confident, that I'm only a p***y to some extent, but feel free to call me a "complete p***y" because of this. Blink



I mean if the board itself is paired once, like 2-2-K-J-5 or whatever.. And oh - I'm just speaking generally, not this specific hand - I mean in hands where you feel as though you can get some value from worse hands, for whatever reasons..

But I don't mean always put in a bet when you have a nut flush on a paired board, but certainly if you check 100% on the river, with a nut flush - just because the board is paired, you will lose some value/EV.

There are times when based on your opponents actions on the previous streets, you're fairly certain they're not beating a nut flush, in which case, a thin(small)-value bet may be a good way to extract some value from 2-pair/trips hands.

     
  6-May-13, 02:25   #11
  0 
demodawggy 

Joined: Feb '12
Location: Canada
Age: 56 (M)
Posts: 5680
Seems to me you had it in mind to go after the flush,...and maybe hope for another ace or 2 along the way in case...

I always find it hard to fold a 'Suited' ace,....I loves the nut flushes... You never would have known buddy was going to get a FH preflop,....

Once that board was paired double though,....dilemma...

If buddy had a history of playing loose,...I would have called...could have been a bluff,...and full houses are hard to get!


Hind-sight is 20/20 though...

     
  6-May-13, 04:00   #12
  0 
jessthehuman 

Joined: Apr '09
Location: Australia
Age: 32 (M)
Posts: 6441
Hah oh wow ! I am an IDIOT!

I didn't realise the board was double-paired! Wow! Completely mis-read that. Snap fold river!

------------
Posted by remco2504:

I would have folded to the river in this case.


right you are!

------------
And if they checked the river to you, always check it back. Re-raising him was just lunacy, you effectively turned the nut-flush into a bluff.

------------
Posted by marqis:except that I don't understand this: "on a paired board and you have reason to believe you're ahead and it is check to you, by all means - put in a raise, you don't have to be a complete p***y".


Yeah sorry ! I completely mis-read the board on this HH, I thought it was single-paired !


Absolutely I agree, never put in a raise on a double-paired board with just a flush, you're asking for grief.. Not point risking getting bluffed off the pot when you have some "show down" value, by checking back.

     
  6-May-13, 18:48   #13
  0 
4_the_W 
Joined: Feb '11
Location: Romania
Age: 41 (M)
Posts: 176
Don't you think A/2 even suited, was a bad call, with that raise?Maybe not! Now let's use reverse: how did you played if you had, lets say A/k, if you were him/her? It doesn't matter what he/her had...was a risky call. Also, after his reraise...you should definitely fold!

     
BankrollMob Forum » Hand Histories » Analyze this plz

 
Forum Rules | Support & FAQ

© 2016 BankrollMob.com - All Rights Reserved CONTACT | ABOUT | PRIVACY POLICY | TERMS & CONDITIONS | NEWSLETTERS | AFFILIATES | REPORT SPAM | ADVERTISING
  Bookmark and Share