English flag   Dansk (danish) flag     (04:05 GMT)
 
Username   Password  

BankrollMob Christmas logo  
Free no deposit poker bonuses Reviews Bankrolls - Free No Deposit Offers Poker Forum News: Poker, Casino, Betting & Bingo Sport Bets Poker Freerolls & Tournaments Leaderboards Support & FAQ
transparent separator

BankrollMob Forum

BankrollMob Forum » Poker Forum » Was this call right or wrong ?

New Thread Forums Search Subscriptions Bookmarks

  28-May-13, 07:35   #1
Was this call right or wrong ? 0 
MIGO14 
Joined: Mar '11
Location: Germany
Age: 47 (M)
Posts: 1235
Was playing a $500 gtd turbo tourney at FT.
518 entrants, we are down to 22 players, I have about 80k in chips, position 5/22, blinds 2k/4k.
Guy in front of me pushes his stack of 39k.
I have AKo and call his push.
He shows 66, low board, I lost.
After this I was down to position 14, getting no more good hands.
When we were down to 15 players, I was the shortstack.
I survived a bit longer and ended up at position 10 = FT bubble boy.
I wanted to go deep and winning this hand I would have been at position 2, giving me a great chance for the FT.
On the other hand, I guess with folding I would have made the FT (maybe as shortstack).
So was this call correct or not ?

     
  28-May-13, 08:52   #2
  0 
IceQueenAce 
Joined: Feb '13
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 40 (F)
Posts: 2196
Call

That is poker

     
  28-May-13, 09:06   #3
  0 
rafiko1 

Joined: May '12
Location: Belgium
Age: 24 (M)
Posts: 275
It's a tough question. If you think he has a pair then IMO folding is the better option.
In this situation it is a coinflip but the pair has a little more advantage.
If you think your opponent holds something like AQ,AJ then I would call.
Of course it's very difficult to know what he has...
And maybe if you wait a little more you get AA, KK, QQ which are far more ahead.
There is no bad decision here, I believe. Go with your feeling Smile

     
  28-May-13, 10:05   #4
  0 
bullettooth1 

Joined: Mar '11
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 32 (M)
Posts: 1635
You definitely can't fold here. The guy only has just short of 10BB's and can be shoving with a massive range. You only have 20 so are pretty short stacked yourself, so you can't afford to be waiting around for a better hand than that! Folding would be awful in this spot.
You made the correct call but just got unlucky.
Congrats for getting so far tho Thumbs Up better luck next time

     
  28-May-13, 10:13   #5
  0 
Soundlis 

Joined: Nov '11
Location: Lithuania
Age: 23 (M)
Posts: 166
Its depends on your position if you was in early position(9 players table) and have other agresive players on table i guess you can fold it,but anyway its ak vs short stack,if you have ak he can easily have KQ or AJ and you should call.

     
  28-May-13, 10:14   #6
  +1 
Heskor 
Joined: May '13
Location: Mauritius
Age: 25 (M)
Posts: 2659
Yeah thats variance, he is pushing with pocket pairs, to double up. Better luck next time.

Also if making FT is more important to you, then try to avoid marginal spots, and play only QQ+ when you get near the bubble.

     
  28-May-13, 10:30   #7
  +1 
MIGO14 
Joined: Mar '11
Location: Germany
Age: 47 (M)
Posts: 1235
Thanks for all your comments.
Thinking of it again I guess I am with bullettoth. At this time the shoving ranges are wide for sure, so I guess it was correct to call.
Especially with the turbo structure, there isn´t a lot more time to wait for monster hands.

     
  28-May-13, 10:36   #8
  0 
Fakiry 

Joined: Apr '09
Location: Portugal
Age: 37 (M)
Posts: 4764
If you don't play AK, off suit or not, what will you play? Your opponent had half your stack, in my opinion you had to give that call. The result wasn't the best, but you know you played well. This wasn't risking or compromising your tourney, was playing a hand that had to be played when on that situation. Believe me, it would be worst if you had lost your AA all-in pre-flop against a calling 88 (it happened to me at Little Big Tourney this weekend, i got a little bit further, but not much more, and if i had won that i would have become in the first 10 when there were still 1,000 players, started with more than 20,000).

     
  28-May-13, 10:45   #9
  -1 
Moldo_war 
Joined: Jun '11
Location: Romania
Age: 25 (M)
Posts: 77
bad call.. if you aimed for the ft why do you have to risk almost half of your stack preflop. you where in good place 5/22 and you should have played only the "safe" hands..

     
  28-May-13, 11:37   #10
  0 
mahdrof 

Joined: Nov '09
Location: Canada
Age: 47 (M)
Posts: 2367
I have made a lot of bad decisions in late tournament play lately, so take what I say with a grain of salt! I find that with these low prize money tournaments, unless you hit the top two spots the money for the other positions is fairly inconsequential, so when I have a shot at getting a big chip stack and thus a good chance at taking one of the top spots, I will take it. So call.

     
  28-May-13, 11:39   #11
  0 
mies730 

Joined: Feb '13
Location: Netherlands
Age: 43 (M)
Posts: 505
On a Turbo mtt, I would have made he call aswell, while saying that, I know that it's like Moldo says indeed a bad call. I would never call against someone with more stack, but I would against some one with half my stack or less. In my experience when u play an mtt, U have to take some risk at certain points, to win the game. many times i played to tight near a finaltable and got carddead or waited for that monster.....finally U get KK and go preflop all in with a big stack with A 4 who makes his flush on the river or something like that.

If U had hitted ur A or K and won the flip, U wouldn't have wonderd if it was a bad call or not.
I know that the statistics favour the pocket pair preflop, but on online poker it always looks if the bigger stacks are sligtly favourd as they always seem to hit their A or K.

But again deep inside I know that Moldo is right.
Better Luck next time
Smile

     
  28-May-13, 11:42   #12
  0 
bullettooth1 

Joined: Mar '11
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 32 (M)
Posts: 1635
Posted by Moldo_war:
bad call.. if you aimed for the ft why do you have to risk almost half of your stack preflop. you where in good place 5/22 and you should have played only the "safe" hands..

Would you still say it was a bad call if he won the hand?
"safe hands" ?? are you saying he should only play AA or KK with 20bb's? even they aren't 100% safe!

     
  28-May-13, 11:55   #13
  0 
thefly131 
Joined: Jun '10
Location: Belgium
Age: 43 (M)
Posts: 1345
Posted by bullettooth1:
Posted by Moldo_war:
bad call.. if you aimed for the ft why do you have to risk almost half of your stack preflop. you where in good place 5/22 and you should have played only the "safe" hands..

Would you still say it was a bad call if he won the hand?
"safe hands" ?? are you saying he should only play AA or KK with 20bb's? even they aren't 100% safe!


Have to agree here, AK versus lower pocket pairs preflop is always a flip coin. So call is defenitely the best thing to do, the only cards that would put you really behind is AA and KK.


     
  28-May-13, 12:10   #14
  0 
lukasb 

Joined: Mar '11
Location: Croatia
Age: 36 (M)
Posts: 1735
Posted by Moldo_war:
bad call.. if you aimed for the ft why do you have to risk almost half of your stack preflop. you where in good place 5/22 and you should have played only the "safe" hands..

?? I'm sry but in texas holdem players are not dealt royal flushes in hand

     
  28-May-13, 13:46   #15
  0 
MIGO14 
Joined: Mar '11
Location: Germany
Age: 47 (M)
Posts: 1235
Posted by Moldo_war:
bad call.. if you aimed for the ft why do you have to risk almost half of your stack preflop. you where in good place 5/22 and you should have played only the "safe" hands..


Thats why I asked here, because I wondered about it yesterday.
But the more I think of it (and read all your nice comments) I am very much convinced that I have to call in this situation in the tourney. Besides PP´s he has definitely also dominated hands like AQ, AJ maybe A10 and also KQ, maybe KJ in his range with 10bb, taking into account this late stage of the tourney and the turbo structure.
Fore sure I would have had a good chance to make the FT by folding, but playing this tight I guess only reaching it as shortstack making maybe place 7-9 ($ 10 to $14- my 10th place was $5,50).
Hitting the hand would have given me a nice chance to make it top 5 or better (around $25 to $120).

     
  28-May-13, 18:43   #16
  0 
rafiko1 

Joined: May '12
Location: Belgium
Age: 24 (M)
Posts: 275
I had same decision to make a month ago on the late PS tournaments of $1 + R.
I reached last 200 or so with position 4/200, descent stack.
Blinds were rising like crazy on those turbo's.
I was BB and got dealt AK, had around 1,6 M chips. A player who was very agressive shoved for approx. 600 K.
I put him on AQ-AJ and called, he had JQ and I lose because of a Q.
After a couple of hands I was down to 700 K blinds were very high shoved with 66's on the button and got called by JJ, losing the tournament.
If I had won that hand with AK I would for sure win +100$ , won only $30.

     
  28-May-13, 23:19   #17
  0 
TheMachineQC 

Joined: Apr '10
Location: Canada
Age: 27 (M)
Posts: 2110
Good call, bad luck... happens! The guy had less than 10 blinds, so of course you have to call with AK. Folding this hand would've been way too tight. You have to think that since he shoved 66, he would've shoved any A9+ and probably good suited connectors like QJs too. You crush most of his range.

Bottomline: There's absolutly no way you can fold AK pre flop to a guy with 10 BBs. ^^

     
  29-May-13, 02:42   #18
  0 
alakazoo 
Joined: Apr '13
Location: Canada
Age: 29 (M)
Posts: 333
what do you mean by making the FT?

Of course your call with AK was a good one... board just haven't run in your way but if your not calling with those cards, I wounder what you'll need to call... plus, he was the shortstack so he can be shoving with any 2 cards rossing his fingers that it'll hold

Nuice call, bad board for you that's it Confused

     
  29-May-13, 03:50   #19
  0 
demodawggy 

Joined: Feb '12
Location: Canada
Age: 56 (M)
Posts: 5682
Kind of a tough call on that one considering your goal...

But when you're that low on chips I would think shoving is the option...

I would have shoved no problem...a win and you'd be sitting pretty,....a loss,....will put an end to the agony... Big Smile

     
BankrollMob Forum » Poker Forum » Was this call right or wrong ?

 
Forum Rules | Support & FAQ

© 2016 BankrollMob.com - All Rights Reserved CONTACT | ABOUT | PRIVACY POLICY | TERMS & CONDITIONS | NEWSLETTERS | AFFILIATES | REPORT SPAM | ADVERTISING
  Bookmark and Share