English flag   Dansk (danish) flag     (10:36 GMT)
 
Username   Password  

BankrollMob Christmas logo  
Free no deposit poker bonuses Reviews Bankrolls - Free No Deposit Offers Poker Forum News: Poker, Casino, Betting & Bingo Sport Bets Poker Freerolls & Tournaments Leaderboards Support & FAQ
transparent separator

BankrollMob Forum

BankrollMob Forum » Poker Forum » What would you do with AK

New Thread Forums Search Subscriptions Bookmarks

  1-Mar-14, 00:36   #1
What would you do with AK 0 
pinotte 
Joined: Jun '13
Location: Canada
Age: 73 (M)
Posts: 3494
You are in level 6 of PP with 8K. 2 players b4 you 16K & 24K.
You are in 4th. position with AK first 3 players limps you limp the big blind raised 1 BB one fold the 2 big stack all in what do you do. Question Question Question Question

     
  1-Mar-14, 02:34   #2
  0 
jessthehuman 

Joined: Apr '09
Location: Australia
Age: 32 (M)
Posts: 6441
Posted by pinotte:
You are in level 6 of PP with 8K. 2 players b4 you 16K & 24K.
You are in 4th. position with AK first 3 players limps you limp the big blind raised 1 BB one fold the 2 big stack all in what do you do. Question Question Question Question


You haven't said how many BB you have.. You shouldn't describe stake sizes as absolutes: "8K" "200K" "200" means nothing - what matters is how many BB you have..

So you say "I have 20BB and two players before have 30BB and 50BB".. or whatever..

That said, if you have under 50BB I'd probably call, if you have >100BB then fold. Inbetween in really depends on the players, how they've played so far. In a freeroll it is a snap-call.

     
  1-Mar-14, 02:41   #3
  0 
pinotte 
Joined: Jun '13
Location: Canada
Age: 73 (M)
Posts: 3494
I probably did not explain well. I limp on the fisrt run then after t BB raised the two big stack shove alli in then what do you do. Question Question

     
  1-Mar-14, 03:43   #4
  0 
Plexo 
Joined: Aug '09
Location: Chile
Age: 30 (M)
Posts: 1336
If you were playing the PP freeroll, with 8K on level 6 I would fold AK against two player, even more if they cover my chips.

Althouh I might be ahead pre-flop in this situation, I think I will not ahead enough to risk my tournament with AK yet.

Anyway it depends on your poker style as well.
If you like to play aggressive and build a big stack early in the tournament then you should call-

Gl!
Thumbs Up

     
  1-Mar-14, 10:06   #5
  0 
doubletop777 
Joined: Mar '11
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 47 (M)
Posts: 5542
If you are short stacked, it is a no brainer and you should shove all in every time. If you are relatively deep stacked you could always leave them fight it out because it is only ace high at the end of the day if you dont hit the flop

     
  1-Mar-14, 11:20   #6
  0 
Theapple 

Joined: Sep '13
Location: Bosnia and Herzegovina
Age: 29 (M)
Posts: 1552
depends on blind sizes, but usually if ur shortstacked shove, if ur midstacked then your strategy changes a lot and you should.. shove. But in case you had more chips, you should adjust ur strategy accordingly, and shove.

jk Big Smile, as we have no clue how big blinds are, and it all comes down to how big ur stack is (not in K, but in bb's Tongue).

     
  1-Mar-14, 13:27   #7
  0 
Peter7878 

Joined: Dec '12
Location: Bulgaria
Age: 39 (M)
Posts: 1022
If I am short of stack (holding AK) and if the blinds are huge size, I would go All In preflop. But if I have enough chips I would call and see the flop. If on the flop appears A or K, I will make the hand expensive and I will go All In, hoping the rest of the players to fold. But if A or K are not apearing on the flop and someone raises, I will fold. I will not call waiting the turn or the river. Simply I would fold. It is safe.

For example (not very good one but that happened one hour ago and I think I played it correctly).
PokerStars, cash games, NLH, micro limits $0.01/$0.02: (sorry I forgot to boom the hand)

I am sitting with $2, I hold JQ, the flop is JQ7, the russian dude is sitting with $2.50, he raises to $0.14 on the flop, I reraise to $0.24, the turn is 5, he raise to $0.34, I went all in, he called, the river is 8.

Showdown: I have to pairs JJQQ, he has three of a kind 555, he wins the pot. I lost $2.

Mobbits, did I played it correctly Question If you hold JQ and if on the flop appear JQ will you continue untill the river Confused This crazy dude had 555 on the turn, but he raised on the flop still 5 didn't appear. I had two pairs in early position.

What would you say Question Sorry explaing the hand that way, but my PokerStars hand history is in bulgarian.

I know I lost $2 but, did I played it right Question Any suggestions and comments Question

Thanks in advance!

Edited by Peter7878 (Saturday, March 01, 2014 @ 13:32 GMT)


     
  1-Mar-14, 13:43   #8
  0 
stationcl 
Joined: Jun '11
Location: Czech Republic
Age: 25 (M)
Posts: 11
Easy push Blink . Shortstack, middle position, few limpers before you, premium hand, bad pot-odds for another players... some good reasons to play allin!

     
  1-Mar-14, 14:37   #9
  0 
Heskor 
Joined: May '13
Location: Mauritius
Age: 25 (M)
Posts: 2659
Shove it would be my play with AK if i am short stack, if I am big stack against a short stack and that he is doing a desperate move, then I am gonna call because most of the time he should have lower cards, and pushing all in with any two cards, sometimes they will have the good cards. But calling the alling would be profitable against any two cards.

It all depends on your position also, if you have another big stack or two behind you , be wary that if you call, they can push to force you out of the hand. So fold. Or push all in and hope they don't call by generating fold equity!

     
BankrollMob Forum » Poker Forum » What would you do with AK

 
Forum Rules | Support & FAQ

© 2016 BankrollMob.com - All Rights Reserved CONTACT | ABOUT | PRIVACY POLICY | TERMS & CONDITIONS | NEWSLETTERS | AFFILIATES | REPORT SPAM | ADVERTISING
  Bookmark and Share