BankrollMob Forum

BankrollMob Forum » BankrollMob.com » Worst Hand 2 Call ALL-IN Pre-Flop With...What's the Worst You'd Play?


Page 1 of 3Go to page:   1, 2, 3  Next »

Worst Hand 2 Call ALL-IN Pre-Flop With...What's the Worst You'd Play?  0   
At a full-ring cash game, $ .05/.10 limit, I'm curious to know what hand is "O.K." to call an all-in pre-flop raise after you have re-raised the initial raiser? Here is a typical scenario. I have a starting stack of $5.56. So I'm in the BB w/pkt 10's. A plyr in mid-pos. raises to .35 cents. I raise to $1.40. The guy goes into the tank, comes back w/an all-in shove. Sad thing is he has me covered. Do you call? Evil -

     
   0   
absolutely not get the f**k out 10's are good but maybe should of just seen his call then seen the flop

     
   0   
My thoughts exactly. But at the low limit does a gamble here seem plausible? Maybe for an amateur player, right? Big Smile Evil

     
   0   
This general thread question is impossible to answer. there is no such thing as the worst hand to call with. It all depends on who the all in player is, who else is involved and position. I mean technically KQ is a better hand than 5 6 suited but faced with an opponent with AK I know which hand I'd prefer. It also depends on how much more chips you have to put in. If you've raised to 1.50 and your opponent goes all in for 1.90 you can call with pretty much anything.

Now talking about the actual scenario you gave, your raise was very stupid imo, It was way too high for a pair of tens with just one raiser. There's only 50c in the pot and you've raised him twice that. Any hand that you want a call from A10, K10, 88... he should fold unless he fancies a bluff. The pots now big enough to be worth a steal and he's capable of moving with a range of hands including AK. You have to fold now losing a quarter of your stack.

     
   0   
Sorry I was vague in depicting my opponent's raise. He shoved enough to put my whole remaining stack of $4.06 in the pot. Evil
Also the opponent is known as an avg. player, capable of shoving w/A-10 std... Evil

     
   0   
Fold, like you said "he is capable of shoving w/A-10." So all he has to do is hit his A and you are done. Unless you get help from the board elsewise. But with pocket T's I would call the pf raise and see what the flop brings (hopefully a set). Since you would be going all in, I would only call with AA or KK, dump everything including AKs/AKo. Chances are he is comming at you with AA or KK for him to make that move. Plus, your opp is not playing short stacked

     
   0   
So what you're saying is "no"? Just to the original question... not the second, and more obv. scenario of calling the original .35 c raise, correct? Evil

     
   0   
Posted by Jewcifer:
At a full-ring cash game, $ .05/.10 limit, I'm curious to know what hand is "O.K." to call an all-in pre-flop raise after you have re-raised the initial raiser? Here is a typical scenario. I have a starting stack of $5.56. So I'm in the BB w/pkt 10's. A plyr in mid-pos. raises to .35 cents. I raise to $1.40. The guy goes into the tank, comes back w/an all-in shove. Sad thing is he has me covered. Do you call? Evil -

Instant FOLD, imo.
3,5x BB from mid position and you made a big re-raise with poket tens? I dont know his image on the table, though, but you did a bad move there, you totally overplayed your hand.

Only AA & KK are worth going allin preflop, but sometimes I even fold KK, if I feel someone got Aces. (players with very tight image on the table = instant fold with KK after big re-raise)

     
   0   
Thanx, D-M. That is exactly what I would have done. Now, I have another question in relation to this. Now, YOUR expert opinion in this situation is to fold, right? Right. In a gambler's opinion, at such low stakes, this is a situation to call your stack, right? Evil

     
   0   
If he has to go to the tank you have to call here. You will be flipping a lot of the time and with the money allready in the pot that would be +ev.

In general. If you have only half a stack, you can't reraise that much and fold without a good read. You have put in 1/4 of your stack allready.

     
   0   
I made a reply here, but it didn't go thru. I'll try again... So by-the-book I should fold, since I should have only called the raise in the first place since I won't have post-flop position on the guy, right? Right. But by-the-numbers I should call, here. Right? Evil

     
   0   
He aint pushing with jack unless he thinks you a bluff monkey, now Q is what is OK to call with, id say the same hand you think its OK to re-raise with, best hope your holding AA/KK, image has a lot to do with this.
PP 10 10, fold IMO
Yes call is fine Smile
Gotta think of his range, no need for the re-raise its asking for truble.

     
   0   
Conflicting responses, interesting. McSnakey and suckout hater are for the obv. fold. As is the Dane. Shok and BIGft say fk it, let's gamble. Aww crap! Anyone else? Evil

------------
Posted by B1gfoot:
He aint pushing with jack unless he thinks you a bluff monkey, now Q is what is OK to call with, id say the same hand you think its OK to re-raise with, best hope your holding AA/KK, image has a lot to do with this.
PP 10 10, fold IMO
Yes call is fine Smile
Gotta think of his range, no need for the re-raise its asking for truble.

Yeah, the pre-flop re-raise is asking for it, and by it I mean your stack going to someone else. Evil

Edited by Jewcifer (25 September 2009 @ 21:04 GMT)


     
   0   
Did i miss it some where in the thread? Or what did you actually do in that situation?

But i prob. wouldnt instant fold here.. But again it all depends if he's a regular or just a fish trying to steal any time he's first in!

     
   0   
Hey, Mucking. So, you're for the insta-muck after being faced w/the all-inner? Cool. To answer the question, I (he) called. Evil

Attached ImagesFlangel's Beat.jpg

     
   0   
Posted by Jewcifer:
Hey, Mucking. So, you're for the insta-muck after being faced w/the all-inner? Cool. To answer the question, I (he) called. Evil

---------------
Hey, you set us up..lol. That was a good one Jewcifer, I'll admit you got me. See I'm not playing at BBP so I wasn't following Flangel and his play.

Now that I see what you are getting at and reread my orgional post and how the hand was played. I was correct about the opp having KK (or AA). And a definite NO to going all in pf with TT. The only way I would go all in pf is with AA or KK. Dump everything else, including AK's. (I don't think my first post was clear on my answer). What I meant to say was if I had TT and it was raised .35 to me I would call to see the flop, not reraise 4X's the bet and the go all in if he shoved into me


     
   0   
I'll fold because you will be behind almost most times.
If he's not a donk he will be pushing with hands like AQs+ JJ+, so your best scenario is to play a coin flip.

Even more if you re-raise x4 you are showing strengh, so I don't think he'll shove you with another kind of hand.

PD: I haven't see how the hand ended, but that is what I'm going to do now

Big Smile

     
   0   
Look at the post above my last post. Then go to the "FLangels a scammer" and read what I wrote after I did some of my own searching

     
   0   
It aint no fun when the rabbit's got the gun... Yeah, man I saw your post and decided to post this attachment of mine. I had to see what this guy was about, so I decided to go and play him myself. What better way to get a first-hand opinion of a guy whom I've never met before or even heard of. I'm not here to bust a bubble. But ever since I came to this forum he was the "go-to-guy" for advice... i just wanted to see Y. He accused me of a bad play when I posted the "What's Your Defining Poker Moment" thread. It was the STORY I was celebrating, the gamble, NOT the obvious bad call. And for the record I called all in on the flop... Tongue I even stated I was gambling and that I wasn't trying to mock anyone's play, that I know there are folks who grind for their meals, rent, etc. and that I hope to be like one of YOU! LOL Confused Had to see for myself before I started getting too involved with some kind of "training". You and I both know that doesn't come cheap. Oh yeah, incase you haven't figured it out, I'm PuffinStuff. Evil

     
   0   
I lol'ed... Big Smile

     
Page 1 of 3Go to page:   1, 2, 3  Next »

BankrollMob Forum » BankrollMob.com » Worst Hand 2 Call ALL-IN Pre-Flop With...What's the Worst You'd Play?

 
Forum Rules | Support & FAQ

Disclosure: BankrollMob may earn a commission based on the advertisement material on this site. #AD

© 2021 BankrollMob.com - All Rights Reserved CONTACT | ABOUT | PRIVACY & COOKIE POLICY | TERMS & CONDITIONS | NEWSLETTERS | AFFILIATES | REPORT SPAM | ADVERTISING