BankrollMob Forum

BankrollMob Forum » BankrollMob.com » I have folded KK pré-flop on special situation, i was right ?


Page 1 of 4Go to page:   1, 2, 3, 4  Next »

I have folded KK pré-flop on special situation, i was right ?  +1   
Hi,
i have folded KK who think i was right ?

Im on dealer position with KK. The first player raise, the second player is loose and call, the third re-raise, and the player just before me is a very tight player and he make all in. after all of my time i folded my hand :/ and all players fold too. I was sure he had AA but i don't know if it was a good move.
Maybe i was wrong, i still have a biggest regrets about this choice.

What the pro player do on this situation ?

     
   0   
Raise or go all in Thumbs Up

     
   +3   
Well i cant fold KK preflop in this situation, QQ no problem but KK no.
If i bust versus AK or AA or other hands well let it be but fold KK preflop in this situation no can do.

     
   0   
Posted by doomdy:
Well i cant fold KK preflop in this situation, QQ no problem but KK no.
If i bust versus AK or AA or other hands well let it be but fold KK preflop in this situation no can do.

Agreed 100%

     
   +2   
It is difficult to say without more information. Was this a cash game or tourney? And how big were the stack sizes. In a situation where the pot was pretty big I would probly take a chance. With the early position raises there is likely to be a few aces already gone so I only have to worry about aces or another pocket pair catching but I would have odds to call. If this was late in a tourney, but not passed the bubble, I would hope I'd wait for better opportunities assuming of course I wasn't short stacked.

     
   0   
Golden rule: Never fold KK preflop for 100BB or less.
One needs a killer read on an opponent to muck the kings preflop.

     
   0   
Only two hands I'll go all in pf with is AA or KK, never AK even if they are suited. As for folding KK pf, absolutely not!!!!! You couldn't get me all in the hand fast enough even if the tightest person at the table shoved. Like mentioned by others above, anything QQ and under gets folded immediately in this situation.
--------
So "yes" that was a very bad fold on your part Sad

     
   0   
I'm borrowing your thread since I have a similair question. Hope it's OK.

I folded KK a few months ago preflop for the first time in my life. It went like this:

UTG limps. I'm in next postition and raise like 7 BB (this is NL 25, and I know that the limper is not a total moron.) Everybody folds, and he goes all in with a full buy-in.

I was thinking for a while, and then I folded. He must have had AA. I can't see him playing anything else like that, exept maybe for the other two K:s, but the odds are way better for AA in that spot.

I was pretty satisfied with my fold, but after reading this thread I'm not so sure anymore.

Was it way wrong, pretty wrong, or not that wrong at all? Confused

Edit: Not that long before I lost a BI with KK against AA in pretty much the same way, although I had another pos in that case. Not the same player or even pokersite, though. Maybe that made me extra cautious.

     
   0   
Well mate, im not sure its a bad fold : we need more information : are you in a sng near of the paid place (mean still 5 and a good chance that after this all in you get in payoff places)? if yes, its not a bad fold !
Are you at a Final table of a MTT? good fold again
You are at the start of a SnG? bad fold
you are in a cash game... not sure, but i think you should call.

------------
Posted by Pjot:
I'm borrowing your thread since I have a similair question. Hope it's OK.

I folded KK a few months ago preflop for the first time in my life. It went like this:

UTG limps. I'm in next postition and raise like 7 BB (this is NL 25, and I know that the limper is not a total moron.) Everybody folds, and he goes all in with a full buy-in.

I was thinking for a while, and then I folded. He must have had AA. I can't see him playing anything else like that, exept maybe for the other two K:s, but the odds are way better for AA in that spot.

I was pretty satisfied with my fold, but after reading this thread I'm not so sure anymore.

Was it way wrong, pretty wrong, or not that wrong at all? Confused

Edit: Not that long before I lost a BI with KK against AA in pretty much the same way, although I had another pos in that case. Not the same player or even pokersite, though. Maybe that made me extra cautious.



If u are in heads up with a player, there is no hesitation to have : he might push all in with AK,AQ,QQ, even JJ's and why not KK, only aces beats u ==> to many chance to be the winner, you can't fold

     
   -1   
Posted by Pjot:
I'm borrowing your thread since I have a similair question. Hope it's OK.

I folded KK a few months ago preflop for the first time in my life. It went like this:

UTG limps. I'm in next postition and raise like 7 BB (this is NL 25, and I know that the limper is not a total moron.) Everybody folds, and he goes all in with a full buy-in.

I was thinking for a while, and then I folded. He must have had AA. I can't see him playing anything else like that, exept maybe for the other two K:s, but the odds are way better for AA in that spot.

I was pretty satisfied with my fold, but after reading this thread I'm not so sure anymore.

Was it way wrong, pretty wrong, or not that wrong at all? Confused

Edit: Not that long before I lost a BI with KK against AA in pretty much the same way, although I had another pos in that case. Not the same player or even pokersite, though. Maybe that made me extra cautious.


If you did call with KK and you run into AA and lost, that doesnt mean you played it bad, if you get it in preflop with KK you played it right.

     
   0   


------------
Posted by Pjot:
I'm borrowing your thread since I have a similair question. Hope it's OK.

I folded KK a few months ago preflop for the first time in my life. It went like this:

UTG limps. I'm in next postition and raise like 7 BB (this is NL 25, and I know that the limper is not a total moron.) Everybody folds, and he goes all in with a full buy-in.

I was thinking for a while, and then I folded. He must have had AA. I can't see him playing anything else like that, exept maybe for the other two K:s, but the odds are way better for AA in that spot.

I was pretty satisfied with my fold, but after reading this thread I'm not so sure anymore.

Was it way wrong, pretty wrong, or not that wrong at all? Confused

Edit: Not that long before I lost a BI with KK against AA in pretty much the same way, although I had another pos in that case. Not the same player or even pokersite, though. Maybe that made me extra cautious.



If u are in heads up with a player, there is no hesitation to have : he might push all in with AK,AQ,QQ, even JJ's and why not KK, only aces beats u ==> to many chance to be the winner, you can't fold [/QUOTE]

Hm... Could he really limp UTG with AQ, get a 7 BB raise, and then go all in?

------------
[/QUOTE]

If you did call with KK and you run into AA and lost, that doesnt mean you played it bad, if you get it in preflop with KK you played it right. [/QUOTE]

OK, thanks for the answers guys.

But there's something about that limping UTG, and then pushing (this is a full ring cashgame NL 25), that makes me very suspicoius...


Angry

     
   0   
i just cant fold KK,even if the kid had AA there is a big chance of the 2 other dudes holding AQ , AJ or some rag ace, even if im behind preflop i have 2 outs to make my set (not a really big chance , but is something)

     
   +1   
BEST FOLD EVER!!! ONLINE POKER IS RIIIIIGGGGEEEEED SO U WERE GONNA LOOSE EITHER WAY

------------
Aahhhh I saw you are french!!! Everything is explained then

     
   0   
I would need a decent sample size on someone to be folding KK to a pre flop all in heads up.

Folding on the button in a multiway all-in pre-flop is very plausible imo, especially vs a couple of nits with 80+bb's but, if they were all SSSer's with say 20bb's, double fist pump jam Smile

     
   0   
called all in

     
   0   
Snap call all in. If he has the rockets then its unfortunate but so be it, no way am i mucking them since the HUGE majority of people make this same move with QQ, AK, even jacks, I've even seen the same line played by people with AQ, tens and 99's
Plus even if he does have the aces, you get to see all 5 cards giving you the chance to hit your set still.

     
   0   
It really depends on what kind of game you are playing, cash, tournament, etc.
In a tournament, it again depends on how far you stand and do you desperately need a bigger stack, are you close to the bubble etc.

I would fold if I was a long way into a tournament, too risky...
Just a relative beginner's opinion. Smile

     
   0   
@ Pjot
You say that you think that the limper isn't a total moron but to my mind limping with AA would be moronic. Only an idiot slow plays aces in a cash game. And then he goes all in to win 8.5 bb with a full stack (usually 50bb) Sounds like he doesn't want a call. If he had aces he'd be trying to push you in but now only QQ, KK, Ak or another AA can contemplate calling. So I think you should have called but there are many situations where folding KK is brilliant play.

I remember watching a video on youtube where a pro somehow folded KK against AA. Another guy with QQ called and lost all his chips but the funny/painful thing was a K come on the flop. I can't remember who the pros were but I'm sure someone could find it if they were bothered.

     
   0   
Posted by awood88:
It is difficult to say without more information. Was this a cash game or tourney? And how big were the stack sizes. In a situation where the pot was pretty big I would probly take a chance. With the early position raises there is likely to be a few aces already gone so I only have to worry about aces or another pocket pair catching but I would have odds to call. If this was late in a tourney, but not passed the bubble, I would hope I'd wait for better opportunities assuming of course I wasn't short stacked.


yes i agree, can we have moro info on this please then we say if it was correct, Smile

     
   0   
With what I see on your post, folding the cowboys preflop was not a good choice. It's possible that tight villian had a read on u and was sure that u'd fold to a push and bluffed it. Maybe he did have AA, but u still had a chance to draw to trips or quads.

     
Page 1 of 4Go to page:   1, 2, 3, 4  Next »

BankrollMob Forum » BankrollMob.com » I have folded KK pré-flop on special situation, i was right ?

 
Forum Rules | Support & FAQ

Disclosure: BankrollMob may earn a commission based on the advertisement material on this site. #AD

© 2021 BankrollMob.com - All Rights Reserved CONTACT | ABOUT | PRIVACY & COOKIE POLICY | TERMS & CONDITIONS | NEWSLETTER | AFFILIATES | REPORT SPAM | ADVERTISING