BankrollMob Forum

BankrollMob Forum » Poker Forum » Two Blinds and a Dealer


Two Blinds and a Dealer   0   
Just wanted to check on a rule for hold em, pretty sure I know the answer but need clarification.
The game gets down to 3 remaining players, one is the dealer and the other two players are small blind and big blind.
on the first round of betting before the flop, is the dealer the first to commence betting since the blinds do not normally commence first until after the flop, or does the small blind go first.
Cheers! Smile

     
   0   
Yes of course the dealer is first to act preflop and last to act post flop. Have you never played online with just three players then?
Also when there are two players left the small blind is first to act and the dealer is also the big blind. I've seen a few people confused by this in live play funny enough.

     
   0   

Preflop its always the player after BB that acts first ... but flop and later its the player after dealer that acts first .

     
   0   
Posted by cyberbabel:
Just wanted to check on a rule for hold em


Your question has been answered, but I'm just curious - is it your first day of poker???
You're registered here since apr '09 and received 2 NDBs, so you must've been playing.... no???

     
   0   
Wow. Brain fart detected.

     
   -1   
Posted by m0n0:
Posted by cyberbabel:
Just wanted to check on a rule for hold em


Your question has been answered, but I'm just curious - is it your first day of poker???
You're registered here since apr '09 and received 2 NDBs, so you must've been playing.... no???

no need to have such comments when a mobster ask a question even if you don't like the question .

     
   0   
hahahahahahahahahahahahahahah Aww crap! Aww crap! Aww crap! Aww crap! Aww crap! Aww crap!

     
   0   
Posted by mrnugger:
no need to have such comments when a mobster ask a question even if you don't like the question .


it wasn't a personal attack or anything like it... i was just curious as of the origin of the question...
hope it didn't offend anyone Big Smile

     
   0   
The dealer is the first to act preflop and last one to act post flop.

Not easy to remind Confused

     
   0   
@awood88 Sorry, but you are wrong. In a headsup situation, the dealer is the small blind and has to act first preflop. After the flop, the big blind is the first to act.

See http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Texas_hold_'em

Edited by MichiBiggi (18 January 2010 @ 13:33 GMT)


     
   -1   
Posted by MichiBiggi:
@awood88 Sorry, but you are wrong. In a headsup situation, the dealer is the small blind and has to act first preflop. After the flop, the big blind is the first to act.

See http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Texas_hold_'em



Quoted from wikipedia:
When only two players remain, special 'head-to-head' or 'heads up' rules are enforced and the blinds are posted differently. In this case, the person with the dealer button posts the small blind, while his/her opponent places the big blind. The dealer acts first before the flop. After the flop, the dealer acts last and continues to do so for the remainder of the hand.



Well it seems that I was wrong. All this time I thought left of the dealer was always small blind. Shock I've just researched this myself via more reliable sources but I'm sure I've played heads up in online tourneys where it's the other way around. Can anyone else confirm if this has always been the case.

Edited by awood88 (18 January 2010 @ 15:14 GMT)


     
   0   
Where did you see bb as dealer in a HU game?
It is possible to happen, but in most poker sites and live tournaments I watched on TV de button belongs always to small blind.

If you still doubt it, I've being playin some HU SnGs on Celeb Poker and I take position to serious to not remind that.

Wikipedia is almost right, but that's not a rigid rule, but bb as BTN is an exception to the usual rule.

Please open any poker room and watch a HU game.

     
   0   
If you want, try this with Google - heads up dealer small blind Smile

     
   -1   
I watched two people play HU at a cash game on full tilt and it confirmed small blind as dealer but I've made the final two in a full tilt tourney a few times and I've never noticed before which is odd cos I've always played dealer as bb in live games. It doesn't really make sense to me why it should be the other way around. The rule should be first left of the dealer is small blind throughout every stage of the tourney and left of him is the big blind. It doesn't really matter cos in either case small blind acts first and you still get big blind every other hand but I don't get why they would change it just for heads up.

     
   0   
just stupid one Aww crap! Aww crap! Aww crap! Aww crap!
just like u never play before Smile
damn Aww crap! Aww crap! Aww crap! Aww crap!

     
   0   
The reason is because if the dealer button had the big blind, it would be too much power -- the dealer would have the big blind (already a lot of money in) plus position for every betting round. This would make heads up play really tight with the small blind only playing with premium hands (in which case the dealer would most likely fold). So by giving the small blind to the dealer button, it is more balanced and a better game.

     
BankrollMob Forum » Poker Forum » Two Blinds and a Dealer

 
Forum Rules | Support & FAQ

Disclosure: BankrollMob may earn a commission based on the advertisement material on this site.

© 2020 BankrollMob.com - All Rights Reserved CONTACT | ABOUT | PRIVACY & COOKIE POLICY | TERMS & CONDITIONS | NEWSLETTERS | AFFILIATES | REPORT SPAM | ADVERTISING