BankrollMob Forum

BankrollMob Forum » Poker Forum » quads


have you ever fold a quads because you was thinking about losing?
 

Only logged-in members can vote!
Click here to create a Mob account which gives you access to our forum and all our free bankrolls (no deposit bonuses)
Log in to existing account!

Page 3 of 3Go to page: « Previous  1, 2, 3  

   0   
third best

     
   0   
i never fold quads but i should

i have four of a kind aces ( 2 aces in hnd ) but my oponent have royal flush :O ( not badbeat jackpot table Sad )

     
   0   
Hello everybody!
Ofcource no and I don't think it's going to happen. If you have quads opponent a max bet is he probably has a full and dink it is defeated here.
See you soon for new posts lol! Big Smile

     
   0   
The likelyhood of losing with quads is rare at best. To ever consider folding is a resounding NO>

     
   0   
Posted by berdol6666:
i never fold quads but i should

i have four of a kind aces ( 2 aces in hnd ) but my oponent have royal flush :O ( not badbeat jackpot table Sad )

Lier ..

     
   0   
Posted by awood88:
When I first read this post I was trying to think of a situation where folding quads might be an option. I considered a scenario like this but then thought about it. If you've hit a set on the flop of all the same suit, surely you should be raising to stop someone hitting the flush. I would assume you raised preflop with QQ so there's a decent pot. Your opponent may not even have an out but if you check you're giving them a chance to steal.


You have to bet to look if your oponent might has a straigt or a flush, which he should raise, but he just calles so you have to put him on a draw.
So far, so good. The rivercard gives you the nuts and you could eigther slowplay or bet.
Maybe your oponent has already a straight or flush or even a full house with a lower pocketpair. Normally, he won't fold.
Posted by awood88:
If they have the ace, chances are they will raise, so I can't see how you would get to the river without being committed.

Depends on your stacksize. for shortstacks - no arguing, you're already all-in. But if 2 deepstacks are playing against eachother, you just don't shove.

Posted by awood88:
I have lost with quads but I have played a huge number of hands. I have never seen a situation where a player would be able to fold quads without being an idiot. I really would like to see the hand the op believes was justified even though it's clear he played it badly since he had pocket 3s.

I agree that you normally don't lose with Quads, but I think in this example it's just to obvious if only the Ace is missing to complete the royal flush.

     
   0   
No, no, and no again!
NO folding Quads!! That's nuts.
And I mean THE nuts.
I've been beaten with and by quads once, what are the chances?
You get quads every 5.000 hands, I think, SO PLAY THEM!!
Poker is a game of statistics, what are the chances?
I'm wondering who the people are who voted YES, and why?
Maybe I'm missing something?
A "possible" Royal Flush by somebody else won't even make me fold, no way.

     
   0   
Posted by kolse:
The rivercard gives you the nuts and you could eigther slowplay or bet. Maybe your oponent has already a straight or flush or even a full house with a lower pocketpair. Normally, he won't fold.

Depends on your stacksize. for shortstacks - no arguing, you're already all-in. But if 2 deepstacks are playing against eachother, you just don't shove.


In your example, the turn (not the river) gave you the nuts but not the absolute nuts. There is absolute no way you should slow play this. There are two cards could lead to potential straight flushes which will kill your hand even if your opponent doesn't have it. You should raise big to stop your opponent from hitting and with that ace in his hand I would think he would re-raise. If you bet big enough it's not profitable for him to just call. Any good player would be trying to commit his opponent on the turn. Even if they were huge stacks once you've committed more than two thirds of your stack there is no folding that river no matter how horrible.

In the case where the Q hits on the river and the turn is gives the straight flush you wouldn't get to see the river cos you should of already folded.


     
   0   
ofc. you can fold quads if the board is something like 2345ddd5 and you have 55. It's an easy fold but let's say you are 400-500BB deep and your opponent is good. Let's say the flop comes AhJh2s and you have AA. You bet, your opponent raises and you call. The turn is Th. You bet out and your opponent calls. river is the last ace and you have quads. You bet, opponent reraises, you rereraise, he rereraises you all in... In that case your opponent will never have JJ if he is good. He would have already realized that JJ is not good. So it would be a sick spot in my opinion. Maybe complete air or KQhh. I would consider folding quads in that spot

     
   0   
How about a hand where the table is like this:
2 2 K K K

And your cards are : 2 2

This situation could make me think about losing with these cards!

     
   0   
You shouldn't even enter a hand with 22, not without a very good reason. 22 isn't really any better preflop than 5 6 as the best you can hope for is a race.

     
   0   
Posted by shokaku:
Posted by Alelkz16:
i would never fold quads preflop Cool


You should reread the omaha rules. Smile


lol Big Smile

     
   0   
Never had to fold and never lost with quads, but already watched someone loose with quads at my table, and the guy just got a game depression and kept psicologicaly unhealthy for a while. Its not good to watch, and its worst when happens in private, because there isnt any consolation prize, or a bad beat prize to win.

     
   0   
Posted by awood88:
You should raise big to stop your opponent from hitting and with that ace in his hand I would think he would re-raise. If you bet big enough it's not profitable for him to just call. Any good player would be trying to commit his opponent on the turn. Even if they were huge stacks once you've committed more than two thirds of your stack there is no folding that river no matter how horrible.

But your oponent has already a flush or a full house at this time.
He wouldn't fold even on a large bet cause it's also very unlikely that you have quads...

     
   0   
Posted by kolse:
Posted by awood88:
You should raise big to stop your opponent from hitting and with that ace in his hand I would think he would re-raise. If you bet big enough it's not profitable for him to just call. Any good player would be trying to commit his opponent on the turn. Even if they were huge stacks once you've committed more than two thirds of your stack there is no folding that river no matter how horrible.

But your oponent has already a flush or a full house at this time.
He wouldn't fold even on a large bet cause it's also very unlikely that you have quads...


Firstly, how the hell can your opponent have a full house if he has the ace and the board is 10x Jx Qx Qy. He can have at best the nut flush and you could easily have trips or a full house.

And i'm not saying that he will fold. I'm saying he will raise you all-in as he doesn't want you to hit a full house and he knows that he has an out. If the bet is enough he can't afford to call hoping to hit 1 card knowing that if he misses he will have to fold to an all in since you could have a full house.

I'm assuming that the players involved in this hand would be fair to good players. Bad players may act differently but I guarantee if you play this hand in real life with average+ players (Qa Qb; Ax 9x flop:10x Jx Qx Qy Kx) there is no way QQ will fold after the turn.
Same for Qa Qb vs Ax Ja. It's either all in or AJ will fold the turn. Same for Ax Ka.

Edited by awood88 (25 March 2010 @ 16:33 GMT)


     
   0   
o well i think the day you fold quads is a good day to reconsider if you should continue playing poker Tongue

     
   0   
Never in a lifetime of poker playing I would do that !! I couldnt convins my brain to do that Sleepy

     
   0   
no.never and how are you do that,after flop you must go all in and there is no space for other player to wait card which he need,but if you lose is bed luck with cards like yours must go all or nothing
Aww crap! Dollar Dollar Shock Aww crap!

     
Page 3 of 3Go to page: « Previous  1, 2, 3  

BankrollMob Forum » Poker Forum » quads

 
Forum Rules | Support & FAQ

Disclosure: BankrollMob may earn a commission based on the advertisement material on this site. #AD

© 2021 BankrollMob.com - All Rights Reserved CONTACT | ABOUT | PRIVACY & COOKIE POLICY | TERMS & CONDITIONS | NEWSLETTER | AFFILIATES | REPORT SPAM | ADVERTISING