BankrollMob Forum

BankrollMob Forum » Poker Forum » Did I play this hand wrong???


Did I play this hand wrong???  0   
I was in a 10 dollar rebuy on full tilt this week-end and went out on a tough to take hand. I just wondered how u guys thought i played it.

There were 90 runners, band 9 get paid. We are down to 12, 9th gets 62 bucks and the winner just shy of 800.

I'm BB with Ah-9h, and 18k chips. Blinds are 600-1200(turbo tourney)

Button moves all-in for 25k and it's just me left.
Now this guy last hand had lost 10k after he was reraised preflop and mucked, so I figure maybe he is steaming.

I make the call and he shows Ac-2s

Flop is harmless but he catches a sick 2 on the turn to bust me. Aww crap!

Now this was a hard one to swallow so near big money, but my Q is this: with my read was i right to call or should I have mucked and waited? I was sitting around 7th or 8th in chips at the time.

Any views greatly appreciated.

     
   0   
Sorry to say, easy fold...
Be the one who raises, not the one who just calls another ones allin.

     
   0   
Yeah A9s is a raising hand not a calling hand. Even if someone is steaming you want something bigger to call all your chips off with, preferably a pair. Unlucky though.

     
   0   
I think that the fact ur hand was suited made u do the call. But I dont think u played it wrong. U went with ur gut and ur read and it was an good call. sadly ul though =/

     
   0   
It was played wrong. When you are on bubble to shouldn't play tight, but when sb moves all in A9s is not good enough to call. You should win money from shortstacks, and avoid confrontation with bigstacks. that is my opionion

     
   0   
Hi guys
Thanks for the replies

After the dust settled, I did agree that A9 is not a calling hand. But once he moves all-in, I obviously could'nt raise, so it is call or fold. Is it still an easy fold if you had the read I had???

And Jego, yes, suited defo had an impact. It meant in the unlikely event he had me beat, it gave me a slightly better chance of winning still?

Any other factors that could make me fold???

     
   0   
Posted by bulletdodger1:
I did agree that A9 is not a calling hand. But once he moves all-in, I obviously could'nt raise, so it is call or fold. Is it still an easy fold if you had the read I had???

He is a bigger stack, so if you loose you bust.
So you only be really ahead if you knew the guy have A-rag (but you dont).
All other hands its basicly a coinflip, KQ KJ KT QT and any pockets.
So imo you cant call cos you dont want to put ur entire tourney on just a coinflip.
You cud only call if the guy had half ur stack imo Smile

     
   0   
Posted by doomdy:
Posted by bulletdodger1:
I did agree that A9 is not a calling hand. But once he moves all-in, I obviously could'nt raise, so it is call or fold. Is it still an easy fold if you had the read I had???

He is a bigger stack, so if you loose you bust.
So you only be really ahead if you knew the guy have A-rag (but you dont).
All other hands its basicly a coinflip, KQ KJ KT QT and any pockets.
So imo you cant call cos you dont want to put ur entire tourney on just a coinflip.
You cud only call if the guy had half ur stack imo Smile


Perfect assessment by doomdy. It's an easy fold

     
   0   
Usually A9s is a fold in this spot. But we have only 15 BB left, and are in a turbo tourney. So we will be under 10 BB very soon. I guess we need the chip stacks to realy judge it.

     
   0   
shokaku, he had me covered just, as i mention in first post.

Also, I am in 7th or 8th overall, nearer to lowest stack than highest.

At the time, I thought I was just unlucky making a heroic call, but it's much easier now to understand, it from your point of view. I think to sum it up, quite simply: I went with an instinct, got outdrawn, but maybe I did not need to make the call.

Cheers guys!!!

     
   0   
Posted by bulletdodger1:
I was in a 10 dollar rebuy on full tilt this week-end and went out on a tough to take hand. I just wondered how u guys thought i played it.

There were 90 runners, band 9 get paid. We are down to 12, 9th gets 62 bucks and the winner just shy of 800.

I'm BB with Ah-9h, and 18k chips. Blinds are 600-1200(turbo tourney)

Button moves all-in for 25k and it's just me left.
Now this guy last hand had lost 10k after he was reraised preflop and mucked, so I figure maybe he is steaming.

I make the call and he shows Ac-2s

Flop is harmless but he catches a sick 2 on the turn to bust me. Aww crap!

Now this was a hard one to swallow so near big money, but my Q is this: with my read was i right to call or should I have mucked and waited? I was sitting around 7th or 8th in chips at the time.

Any views greatly appreciated.


Instant fold I am afraid.

You had a very marginal hand and were drawing very thin..

You still had 10M which was ample to keep you going for a few more hands and you would no doubt have found better spots to pick up chips with...



     
   0   
You should fold. chips are getting more value at the late stages of turnament. You should wait for a really strong hand and then play and let your opponents eliminate each other.

     
BankrollMob Forum » Poker Forum » Did I play this hand wrong???

 
Forum Rules | Support & FAQ

Disclosure: BankrollMob may earn a commission based on the advertisement material on this site. #AD

© 2022 BankrollMob.com - All Rights Reserved CONTACT | ABOUT | PRIVACY & COOKIE POLICY | TERMS & CONDITIONS | NEWSLETTER | AFFILIATES | REPORT SPAM | ADVERTISING