BankrollMob Forum

BankrollMob Forum » Hand Histories » Would you risk your stack?


Would you risk your stack?  0   
Down to last four in a 90 player 3$ torunament. Payoffs are 25$ 32$ 44$ 72$. Players are:
Seat 1: spankybo17om (100,375)
Seat 2: Rashkolnikov (75,818) (me)
Seat 3: Lukeallin (24,049)
Seat 8: dutch73333 (69,758)
Blinds are 1500-3000, antes 400.

Spankybo170m has been chip leader since there was like 30 players, and has really been using his chips. In the first hand on the final table I doubled up when he tried to bluff me with K10 against my QQ on a 86Q rainbow flop. So I know he's tricky and aggresive.

I'm in a comfortable second place and just waiting for the fourth place to be forced out. I've been concentrating on stealing his blinds, but have had some annoying action from the two other big stacks. Sitting utg I look down at AhJh and makes a 10000 bet. Lukeallin folds, SB folds, and then spanky reraises to 32000. I have to call 22000 to see a 48100 pot. I call, since I know this guy doesn't like to be bullied and can have anything down to K10o.

Flop comes 4h 4s Kh, and I have a flush draw. Spanky bets his entire stack, which means I have to play my remaining 43,400 for a 91500 pot, a little better than 2 to 1, which happens to match my chance of making the flush draw. If HE's on a flush draw I have him beat with one of the remaining hearts, but I don't think he is, so I should have 8-9 hearts, plus probably the aces, since I put him on KQ, KJ or K10, so I think the odds are in my favour. I call, and he shows AcTh!

Big smile on my face, until the turn, of course: Tc! A useless 2c river and I'm out.

Question:
Do you think I should have folded the reraise preflop, just to save chips and still be in the game?
And how would you handle the flop-raise from this loose aggresive player, who has been proven to be able to bluff for a third of his stack with nothing?

     
   0   
You can't just call his raise preflop. Betting 32k from your 75k stack, you either have to fold or go over the top. Payout between 4th and 3rd is not so much different, so aim for 1st place.

     
   0   
Agree with shokaku, you are pot commited, especialy since you know he will not be bullied.

And a correction, the odds for making your flush is 35% on the flop missing one heart.

     
   0   
raise or fold pre. definatly dont call post, you know hes bluffing but i wouldnt call this late on a draw. wait for another hand like your qq and take his chips then.

     
   0   
Agree with the other responders. You set your self up to be forced into an all in or fold after just calling the pre-flop raise. If you wanted to go, you should have just shoved preflop or folded. Not a horrible move on the flop calling since he will be bluffing a good percentage of the time since you just called his preflop raise (he will hope you will fold to a big bet so he can steal) and you simply got unlucky.

     
   0   
Posted by shokaku:
You can't just call his raise preflop. Betting 32k from your 75k stack, you either have to fold or go over the top. Payout between 4th and 3rd is not so much different, so aim for 1st place.


I agree with you. Betting 32000 out of 75000 is a very high risk. And i think it's better if he continues because it's a very big amount to loose. Well this much amount worth a risk to play furthur.

     
   0   
you are pot commited i would fold, because making your flush is about
35% on the flop.
But i like flushdraws so i can't deny that i would maybe call Tongue

     
   0   
Posted by MrMan:
Agree with shokaku, you are pot commited, especialy since you know he will not be bullied.

And a correction, the odds for making your flush is 35% on the flop missing one heart.

But he put his opponent on K high so it would give him an additional 12% (or something like that) so it means he can hit flush or the ace to win, IF the opponent doesn't a 2pair or 3 of a kind or something.

     
   0   
I agree with what was said here. You should have folded or re-re-raised it pre-flop, specially in the situation of the tourney you were. But if you think he is a bully and you felt a bluff, you should reraise his bet before the flop. But that is only my opinion!

     
   0   
You should have thought about going over the top pre flop.
If you were going to commit on a draw you shopuld have push him from the word go if you had re-raised all in he could have folded, but you gave him the advantage to get lucky..... and he did.
This happens quite a lot as you both had similar hands you had the better kicker but that counts for nothing when he gets lucky...
Push pre flop and he might have folded A10 aint that good really if your tourny is on the line.
Id bet he would have layed it down when faced with that decission.
Unlucky any way i hate it when you go in to a hand on top but come out in second place. Disagree

     
   0   
spankybo17om was just using his chips when you X2, dont put that as a bluff you got lucky with you hole cards.
Id fold to his crazy bet on the flop and wait for a better time, if he is that aggresive no doubt he will trip up sooner or later. You will be same sort of stac as the outher 2, dont chuck the game away due to his "bad" play unless you have him beat.
But as said above id be all in pre-flop against him, calling was wrong.

     
   0   
ups - cancelled-

Edited by ChoonT (09 July 2009 @ 13:27 GMT)


     
   0   
Hmm, I would have folded after flop, even though it would hurt me really bad.

     
   0   
i wouldn't call his raise preflop

     
   0   
imho 4handed u can go all in on his reraise...As u said hes just using his stack and plays LAG... Moreover ur aim should be th first place by having such a comfortable stack Blink

     
   0   
sur i will call it, becouse im to agressive, and often loose same situation like this :S unfortunately, but i hope one day i will be a better player.

     
   0   
If i had to call that i would have been allin preflop, as you are already commiting to the pot with so much chips from your stack but i would have folded there(pre flop) and waited for a better hand to take down his chips.

     
BankrollMob Forum » Hand Histories » Would you risk your stack?

 
Forum Rules | Support & FAQ

Disclosure: BankrollMob may earn a commission based on the advertisement material on this site. #AD

© 2021 BankrollMob.com - All Rights Reserved CONTACT | ABOUT | PRIVACY & COOKIE POLICY | TERMS & CONDITIONS | NEWSLETTER | AFFILIATES | REPORT SPAM | ADVERTISING