BankrollMob Forum

BankrollMob Forum » Poker Strategies » Anyone else noticed this skill-lessAggroDonk ai move?


Anyone else noticed this skill-lessAggroDonk ai move?  0   

You get headsup after a raise, reraise and a call.

Flop comes down something like A Heart 10 Spade 6 Spade

He raises, I reraise, he shoves, I shove. I hold A Club 10 Club , he flips over A Spade 8 Spade

The odds are 3:1 in my favour, and even with trips like a flopped set KKK against these flush draws its more like 4:1.

Yet these aggrodonkers love to just shove it and often seem to win, although long term its a -EV play. It shows a total lack of ability as they don't want to play poker, just to shove and hope to get lucky. Sometimes you get trapped in a hand and think screw it...fine sometimes.
This isn't even OESD+FL draws.

Just an observation. If I know someone is likely to do this I still have to call as the odds are too good for me, but it is the last kind of draw you want them to be on with 9 outs as opposed to say 3 for trips or something.

     
   0   
Personally,....I would never re-raise with A 8 suited,...but SOME folks do for some obscure reason...

Maybe they're testing you...

Maybe hoping to push you off the pot and take your chips pre-flop...

Maybe they're just an ace chasing moron...

...but once 'that' flop comes down,...well it's easy to see why the betting could get a little crazy from there on...


Been there,....done that. One kind of re-raiser i DON'T like are those 'snap re-raisers'.... Confused

     
   0   
They have top pair and a nuts flush draw so of course they going to either re-raise, flat call or go all in. Its standard for fish.




     
   0   
Posted by noonlion:
\
The odds are 3:1 in my favour, and even with trips like a flopped set KKK against these flush draws its more like 4:1.


Actually, the odds are 2:1 in your favour (~34% vs ~64% - and ~2% to tie)


Anyway - in heads up poker, there's absolutely NOTHING wrong with shoving top pair + nut FD. In fact, it's usually the correct move.. Calling with it is a trickier decision, although it's still often the right decision in HU poker.

     
   0   
Posted by jessthehuman:
Posted by noonlion:
\
The odds are 3:1 in my favour, and even with trips like a flopped set KKK against these flush draws its more like 4:1.


Actually, the odds are 2:1 in your favour (~34% vs ~64% - and ~2% to tie)


Anyway - in heads up poker, there's absolutely NOTHING wrong with shoving top pair + nut FD. In fact, it's usually the correct move.. Calling with it is a trickier decision, although it's still often the right decision in HU poker.


I do it myself as well sometimes. But this was in a tournament, which made it even more annoying. I guess it committed me in the pot and he still had 2k left behind if he failed to nail it.

But there's no thought process involved - does he think I have AQ or something? I guess some idiots are insta shoving ai there with AJ+ in my spot. But these guys don't think.

     
   -1   
How do you know there is no though process going on here?

How do you know that he hasn't looked at it, seen that he has top pair, nut flush draw and also runner runner straight chance, calced the odds and believe he is way ahead?

How do you know what he has put you on in your hand?

And did YOU put any thought process into calling with two pair?

     
   0   
Posted by IceQueenAce:
How do you know there is no though process going on here?

How do you know that he hasn't looked at it, seen that he has top pair, nut flush draw and also runner runner straight chance, calced the odds and believe he is way ahead?

How do you know what he has put you on in your hand?

And did YOU put any thought process into calling with two pair?


I didn't think, I never do...

     
   0   
Posted by Phisix:
They have top pair and a nuts flush draw so of course they going to either re-raise, flat call or go all in. Its standard for fish.





what else can he do there, you don't seriously think he's going to fold do you ?
would you fold in that position ?

     
   0   
Early on Id do the same, close to the bubble Id fold, ITM I'd do the same.


just me

     
   0   
Preflop is questionable, but heads up the chips will go in, if both players hit the flop that hard like in this hand. I can't see any aggrodonk play here.

     
   0   
I assume that this is a hand from a tournament so depending on the stage of it and your stack sometimes it makes sense to go all pre flop with A8 lol

If he had a smaller stack than average and he hit the flop like that going all in was not a bad decision in my opinion.

     
   0   
Posted by teddybears73:
Posted by Phisix:
They have top pair and a nuts flush draw so of course they going to either re-raise, flat call or go all in. Its standard for fish.





what else can he do there, you don't seriously think he's going to fold do you ?
would you fold in that position ?


Nope, especially if I have more chips/cash.

     
   0   
His/her play was reasonable IMO.

It's when they do it with 9,2 off and hit big that it gets my goat. (I do hope they are looking after it properly. You know, milking it regularly and so on......)

     
   0   
For a start 4x raising with it was terrible. If I hadn't been on the button I wouldn't have called. Then I hit two pair on the flop and reraise a flop raise by him - so wtf does he think I have? King high? The chances are if I'm calling a big preflop bet, it's not with A7 or less. It's not a terrible play at all, but it's like a snap decision for some people. At the very least I could be expected to have AQ+, still beating him before the river. He risked going from 8k top stack to 2k bottom stack on a draw. Early stages I agree, I'm probably doing it fairly often but at this stage it doesn't really make sense.

However, in retrospect he was the biggest stack at the FT (6ppl) by 2k on me, the second stack, and maybe I should have called instead of reraising the flop. That way I see a spade and shut down, but I'm essentially pot committed also, so even doing that makes little sense.

It's one of those 'moves' that either works out beautifully or doesn't. It has it's place - but why risk a tournament unless you're an idiot?

     
   0   
What were starting stacks, blinds, antes, and raise sizes?

------------
Not that it's really that important top 2 v. top pair and nut flush draw it's all going in unless your 100+ bb deep and it's the main event. You got it in good you can't really complain your 2-1 favourite. Personally i'm not reraising the flop it just folds out his air, and weak holdings.

Edited by primitivo (14 October 2013 @ 12:25 GMT)


     
   0   
maybe a bit late here, but i have to say that u both weren't holding real premium hands (like my beloved 26o), so all the raise-reraise-call before the flop wasn't a very +ev move imo...after the flop i see no problem with someone going all in holding a top pair + nut flush draw...not saying it's very wise, but it's a lot better than the 37o going all in pre-flop Confused

     
BankrollMob Forum » Poker Strategies » Anyone else noticed this skill-lessAggroDonk ai move?

 
Forum Rules | Support & FAQ

Disclosure: BankrollMob may earn a commission based on the advertisement material on this site. #AD

© 2021 BankrollMob.com - All Rights Reserved CONTACT | ABOUT | PRIVACY & COOKIE POLICY | TERMS & CONDITIONS | NEWSLETTERS | AFFILIATES | REPORT SPAM | ADVERTISING