BankrollMob Forum

BankrollMob Forum » Poker Forum » Busted out with KK


Page 1 of 2Go to page:   1, 2  Next »

Busted out with KK  0   
I'm playing in a satelite where top 7 player get a seat in a $1000 tournament.
I'm at the final table with 24000 chips, there are two bigstacks and th rest has between 15000 and 45000 chips. I'm in 8th place with my stack, blinds are 1000/1250.

Then i get KK, I actually don't like to get a hand like this in these situations
Two people in front of me fold and I decide to go all-in.... one caller shows AQ

Flop: 47Q
Turn: 9
River: Q Aww crap! Aww crap! Aww crap!

So what would you do in this situation ? Gamble or was it better to fold ?

     
   0   
Yeah i think you made the right play. A raise and a call would be nice, but 47Q comes and you bet all in he calls anyway.

These hands depend on your chips. But i think the right play is all in.
You were in 8th place though so maybe just stickin in and gettin a seat was the better choice

KK Aww crap!

     
   0   
Hmm I would always go All-in in this kind of situation with KK. Unfortunately there is always a chance you will lose like this. Too bad man.

     
   0   
thats the risk of going all in preflop,esspeccially with KK.if you raised to say 5000 the went all in on flop ,he may have folded thinking you had the bigger hand likeAA or kk,but your allin left him no option but to call your all in so you had no outs was all luck.ah well. Smile

     
   0   
sounds dumb but i ha/e folded AA in the same situation

     
   0   
Dude, you made the right play.. I call it the KK horsemen curse!

So many times.. I had KK and some1 calls my all in with AX, doesnt matter if its a a A2 or AQ.. and so many times it happens that the fkin A comes.. 3 Outs.. WTF?!

     
   0   
u had no choice absolutely right decision, but poker dont work with just skill u need luck also Smile

     
   0   
100% all in with KK in this siuation...that was the right play.

What happens after that...
Aww crap!

     
   0   
Right play, with luck a bit worse Aww crap! Thats true tho, i depends on on the chip stack. Sometimes it is right to "just" call BB and wait what's gonna happen, especialy when you were about to fail as an 8th Disagree In this situation you did right, and there was unfortunately no help for you!!! Heart Club Diamond Spade

     
   0   
no no no no,bad play,you left it all to luck as i said,you should have raise 6-8xbb,then see what he did,if he reraised then go all in.once flop come out you could have gone all in then he may have folded thinking you had bigger hand,no pro would have gone all in preflop,thats a fact.only my opionion. Sad

     
   0   
You are out of the money places, so you just can't wait and let the others bust out. And with KK you are in good shape. Even if you had made a "normal" raise, the chips would have gone in on that flop. So it was just a bad beat.

     
   0   
7th paid place so still had lots of time to go further,she had 25000 in chipz more than enought,each player different,but,poe could have gone further,the point being the allin was down to luck,although KK was ahead,if you raise then you can see what other player does,there were no options left?sometimes you have to fold,what if they reraised you all in,what then.call,or would you put them on AA and lay it down,a pro would have layed it down,while leaving enough chips for a few more hands.i was at casino earlier and asked the best player there,who is a full time pro,and that was what they said,how many times you see the best lay down the winning hand,all thetime,cauz the leave itto skill not luck,bad beat ,yes,bad play yes.AA allin pre flop,KK,no. Cool

Edited by scl1975 (19 September 2008 @ 14:04 GMT)


     
   0   
MMM... different opinions here, but when thinkinh about it the calling player had about the same size of stack so if I raised i think he would have made the all-in bet. Ah well better luck next time, thanks for the replies !

     
   0   
blinds are 1000/1250.

Was that a typo?

I think I would have shoved it in, too. Only one hand that can beat you and everything else is way behind.

     
   0   
Thats a shove for me too, the blinds are worth stealing and if someone calls your very likely to be ahead. You can get unlucky but atleast you made the right play.

     
   0   
You are all totally wrong!!! All-in is the worst play you can make in this situation!

"the blinds are worth stealing and if someone calls your very likely to be ahead"
Likely to be ahead? only stupid people are calling with ace high, and the best hand he can come up against is QQ... Most of the time (if he gets called) he will face AA


Dude... You are at ft, there are 9 or 10 players left. It doesn't matter if you get 1st or 7th.
Why the f**k go all-in then?


This move can never be the right move guys Shock

     
   0   
Yep. Thats why she gets called by AQ. Blink

KK is the second best starting hand. If you are scared of aces when you holding the kings, holdem is not the right game for you.

In this situation (i guess the BB was 2000) it did not matter if Poeinkie moved all in preflop or not. The rest of the chips would have gone in on that flop.

Remember, the blinds are already high. You can't wait 22 orbits to get the rockets. Cool

     
   0   
Posted by shokaku:
Yep. Thats why she gets called by AQ. Blink

KK is the second best starting hand. If you are scared of aces when you holding the kings, holdem is not the right game for you.

In this situation (i guess the BB was 2000) it did not matter if Poeinkie moved all in preflop or not. The rest of the chips would have gone in on that flop.

Remember, the blinds are already high. You can't wait 22 orbits to get the rockets. Cool


The move is still as wrong as it can be! - Yup, you have to play tight-passive in this situation.
If you wanna risk your life, here, you don't understand hold'em.

Nobody is scared to hold the Kings, but they are not good enough here. You can just fold your way to the ticket.


If it was a standard tour, theres no doubt that it is the wrong thing to do, but it is way different, in qual !

As I said. It doesn't matter if you finnish 7 or 1, you just may not be 8-9....

     
   0   
Posted by Poeinkie:
I'm playing in a satelite where top 7 player get a seat in a $1000 tournament.
I'm at the final table with 24000 chips, there are two bigstacks and th rest has between 15000 and 45000 chips. I'm in 8th place with my stack, blinds are 1000/1250.

Then i get KK, I actually don't like to get a hand like this in these situations
Two people in front of me fold and I decide to go all-in.... one caller shows AQ

Flop: 47Q
Turn: 9
River: Q Aww crap! Aww crap! Aww crap!

So what would you do in this situation ? Gamble or was it better to fold ?


I'm sorry for what happened to you, but even tho you did the right thing, you gotta get used to get busted. It's just poker, you can't do anything about it. Keep on playing the right way and you'll win eventually

     
   0   
If there are 8 players left and the first 7 get a ticket and you have a big stack folding is the best option obviously.
But since she is in 8th place she needs to make a move or bleed to death with those blinds.

     
Page 1 of 2Go to page:   1, 2  Next »

BankrollMob Forum » Poker Forum » Busted out with KK

 
Forum Rules | Support & FAQ

Disclosure: BankrollMob may earn a commission based on the advertisement material on this site. #AD

© 2022 BankrollMob.com - All Rights Reserved CONTACT | ABOUT | PRIVACY & COOKIE POLICY | TERMS & CONDITIONS | NEWSLETTER | AFFILIATES | REPORT SPAM | ADVERTISING