(02:10 GMT)
Username   Password  


BankrollMob logo  
Promotions Reviews Bankrolls - Free No Deposit Offers Poker Forum News: Poker, Casino, Betting & Bingo Sport Bets Poker Freerolls & Tournaments Leaderboards Support & FAQ
American? Check out our USA-friendly page where you'll find some great offers for casino, sports betting and poker! No deposit and deposit bonuses are available! View bonuses → or stay here!
transparent separator

BankrollMob Forum

BankrollMob Forum » Poker Forum » Cant go Allin!!!!

New Thread Forums Search Subscriptions Bookmarks

  27-Nov-08, 15:19   #1
Cant go Allin!!!! 0 
ljuban 

Joined: Jan '08
Location: Netherlands
Age: 32 (M)
Posts: 218
im playing at ladbrokes but the have one big problem there, lets say u raize some guy go's allin and a other player calls that allin u cant go allin u can just call the guys allin , can any one tell why ? Aww crap!

     
  27-Nov-08, 15:26   #2
  0 
T3ddyKGB 

Joined: Oct '08
Location: Germany
Age: 44 (M)
Posts: 2023
if he goes all in then you cant raise anymore (or go all in if you have bigger stack than him)....because hes already all in

     
  27-Nov-08, 15:30   #3
  0 
ljuban 

Joined: Jan '08
Location: Netherlands
Age: 32 (M)
Posts: 218
ya i understand that but lets say u have 5 dollars u bet 1 dollar a player has 2 dollars and go's allin now a other player how has lets 4 dollars but just calls the 2 dollars, no its back 2 mee and i can just call the 2 dollar allin and cant put the guy with the 4 dollars allin preflop.

     
  27-Nov-08, 15:39   #4
  0 
T3ddyKGB 

Joined: Oct '08
Location: Germany
Age: 44 (M)
Posts: 2023
oh i see, then i dont know sorry
once ive heard/read about a "all in restriction"...but that has been a while ago and im not sure if its the same case as yours...gonna check it later for you Smile
but maybe someone else knows the answer ?

     
  27-Nov-08, 15:45   #5
  0 
Dellbo99 
Joined: Feb '08
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 50 (M)
Posts: 342
If the re-raiser ( who has gone all in ) has not put in at least a minimum raise ( ie double your raise ) then you do not have the option to re-raise. It's just one of the rules of NL. Holdem.

You need to know about this rule. If a player is short stacked and you have a hand where you would like to re-raise then you must tailor you bet sizes to allow you to do so.

Keep an eye on stack sizes and if you want the option to re-raise then make your bet no more than half the size of anyones stack.

     
  27-Nov-08, 15:49   #6
  0 
ljuban 

Joined: Jan '08
Location: Netherlands
Age: 32 (M)
Posts: 218
mhh oke i see ... weird rule, never heard or read about it but keep a eye one it thanks Blink

     
  27-Nov-08, 16:10   #7
  0 
Dellbo99 
Joined: Feb '08
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 50 (M)
Posts: 342
It is somewhat strange and most learn about it when it bites them and they are left shouting at the computer.

I believe that if it is not at least the min raise then it is considered to be closer to a call than a re-raise and hence why the initial raiser is only given the option to complete or fold.


     
  27-Nov-08, 16:20   #8
  0 
T3ddyKGB 

Joined: Oct '08
Location: Germany
Age: 44 (M)
Posts: 2023
ah nice to know dellbo.

     
  27-Nov-08, 22:46   #9
  0 
polevaulter 
Joined: May '08
Location: Hungary
Age: 35 (M)
Posts: 212
Hmm, interesting rule... Good to know about it. Thank, man!
Maybe I will check this when I play.

     
  28-Nov-08, 01:06   #10
  0 
awood88 
Joined: Feb '08
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 31 (M)
Posts: 1885
I discovered this rule a while ago. holdem is quite funny when concerning ppl who are all in or when somone has just lost their stack. Its funny cos you dont tend to stick to the rules in real life games.

I dont see what your problem is though since if both players called you, you wouldn't be able to re-raise anyway and its only a little bit more than you raised. the only difference is the second caller can't raise or check-raise. (depending on position)

     
  28-Nov-08, 05:58   #11
  0 
shokaku 

Joined: May '08
Location: Germany
Age: 54 (M)
Posts: 6687
Posted by awood88:
I dont see what your problem is though since if both players called you, you wouldn't be able to re-raise anyway and its only a little bit more than you raised. the only difference is the second caller can't raise or check-raise. (depending on position)


You can't bet the second caller out of the hand preflop. Most of the time you have a hand that plays best against one opponent if you raise in early position.

Simple solution: Raise an amount that avoids this problem. Either putting the shorty all in yourself, or raise so low, that you can reraise, if he pushes.

     
  28-Nov-08, 07:38   #12
  0 
medvedev 
Joined: Sep '08
Location: Russian Federation
Age: 35 (M)
Posts: 318
Posted by Dellbo99:
If the re-raiser ( who has gone all in ) has not put in at least a minimum raise ( ie double your raise ) then you do not have the option to re-raise. It's just one of the rules of NL. Holdem.


I faced this problem too, now I know that there is a rule for that, thanks.

     
  28-Nov-08, 10:30   #13
  0 
LarryLaffer 
Joined: Jan '08
Location: Finland
Age: 34 (M)
Posts: 89
Posted by ljuban:
ya i understand that but lets say u have 5 dollars u bet 1 dollar a player has 2 dollars and go's allin now a other player how has lets 4 dollars but just calls the 2 dollars, no its back 2 mee and i can just call the 2 dollar allin and cant put the guy with the 4 dollars allin preflop.

Its good to know the rules before you play Smile

     
  28-Nov-08, 10:33   #14
  0 
doomdy 

Joined: May '08
Location: Netherlands
Age: 49 (M)
Posts: 6197
When i just started poker i also didnt know this rule.
Now i know its just a rule, sometimes its pretty annoying rule in some situations but hey its a rule Smile

In homegames we dont do this rule cos most friends dont have a clue about this Cool

     
  30-Nov-08, 12:22   #15
  0 
doomdy 

Joined: May '08
Location: Netherlands
Age: 49 (M)
Posts: 6197
Btw i know this rule but....

Can anybody tell me whats the thought behind this rule?
I mean why there is this rule in the first place, cos sometimes its pretty annoying.

Anyone??

     
  30-Nov-08, 12:33   #16
  0 
taavi19 

Joined: Oct '08
Location: Estonia
Age: 30 (M)
Posts: 232
Posted by doomdy:
Btw i know this rule but....

Can anybody tell me whats the thought behind this rule?
I mean why there is this rule in the first place, cos sometimes its pretty annoying.

Anyone??

I am also interested Confused

     
  30-Nov-08, 12:39   #17
  0 
shokaku 

Joined: May '08
Location: Germany
Age: 54 (M)
Posts: 6687
Posted by doomdy:
Can anybody tell me whats the thought behind this rule?
I mean why there is this rule in the first place, cos sometimes its pretty annoying.


In my eyes a result of the rule that you have to raise at least the amount that someone has bet. So if a player bets 1000 after the flop and you opt to raise, you have to put in at least 2000. And if the shorty does not have that much it is viewed as a call if he pushes his 1234 chips in the middle.

     
BankrollMob Forum » Poker Forum » Cant go Allin!!!!

 
Forum Rules | Support & FAQ

© 2019 BankrollMob.com - All Rights Reserved CONTACT | ABOUT | PRIVACY & COOKIE POLICY | TERMS & CONDITIONS | NEWSLETTERS | AFFILIATES | REPORT SPAM | ADVERTISING
  Bookmark and Share